Week 30 – Round 3

Size of Baby (per “What To Expect”) – Size of a small cabbage. Approximately 3 pounds.

Weight Gain – 21 pounds. About a pound a week at this point.  I average about 30 pounds per pregnancy.  Seems like I’m right on track!

IMG_5319

Movement – Wow.  It’s crazy how the body can be trained.  After reading the week 30 blog from my second pregnancy, I responded to this question by saying the baby was situated mostly to my right side.  I don’t know why I’m surprised to say that is EXACTLY what I feel like at week 30 with my third.

Sleep – Doing a lot more of it!

What I miss – A strong cocktail.  Whisky at that.  After spending several hours in training with my fellow Flywheel instructors on Saturday afternoon, my husband and I snuck out for a date night at Kid Cashew.  His first time, but not mine.  The food menu may be small, but the drink menu is legit.  As he sucked down some jalapeño mules, I sipped on a water and enjoyed the shrimp appetizer.  It’s all about the food these days!

IMG_5297

Best Moments this Week –  My husband has been awesome this week.  He must be anticipating a big Father’s Day weekend.  On the days that my energy levels have been low, he has been the first to jump in and help so I can rest (without complaining or making me feel like a bum).

IMG_5307

He took the girls to the splash pad Sunday while I enjoyed brunch with some girlfriends.  He also watched the girls most of the weekend while I participated in continuing education at Flywheel (as mentioned above).

IMG_5299

Looking forward to – I will probably give the same answer every week until my due date.  I am most looking forward to the baby getting here.  It’s hard for me to believe that I still have to go the entire summer with this big belly.  The kids had their last week of official school two weeks ago, but they had their last week of preschool camp this week.

IMG_5294

IMG_5293

IMG_5281

While I have signed them up for some camps in the summer, they are 2-3 hour morning camps.  I was limited in what I could sign them up for due to my own reasons.  For one, I wanted them to be able to attend the same camp (so I only had one drop off).  Two, I still want to get some quality time with them before I am preoccupied with a newborn.

Cravings – At this point in my pregnancy, the baby is gaining approximately a half a pound a week.  To keep up with that, I am eating a lot.  I would like to point out that eating a lot is different than eating for two.  Nothing annoys me more than when women literally think they can eat as much as two adults while they are pregnant.  Let’s not go overboard.

IMG_5301-2

With limited space left in my stomach, I am eating more frequently during the day with smaller portion sizes.  That said, I was actually able to join my family for breakfast Sunday morning before going to a late brunch with some girlfriends.  At both meals, I enjoyed my meal, but did not finish it all.  See breakfast pizza at 300 East above that we split as an appetizer for brunch and the oatmeal that I ordered as my meal below.

IMG_5304

Symptoms – Fatigue has set in.  After battling a cold and sinus infection for almost six weeks, I finally gave in to the fact that I need to slow down my activity.  Not only was my body not recovering from the illness, but I was left feeling irritable.  Since pulling back on my workouts (see below) and spending more time off my feet, I have seen a serious change in my energy levels.  Note, my doctor did warn me that at some point a high level of activity would create more fatigue throughout my day.  I’m there.

Workouts – I realized this week that in order to get over the major hump of my cold, I needed to pull back.  If you know me, you know this is hard for me.  I am in go, go, go mode most of the day.  Telling myself it’s okay to take a break is very difficult.  That said, I started by pulling back some of my workouts for the week.  I am still running my Cross Conditioning OCR workouts, however, I am not participating.

  • Monday – I taught my regularly schedule 6:30AM Flywheel class.
  • Tuesday – Rather than do my strength work on Tuesday, I pushed it to Wednesday and taught a 7:30 AM Flywheel class.  I typically teach at 3:30PM.
  • Wednesday – Strength Day in the garage.
    • Warm Up (2 Rounds
      • Row 2 minutes
      • Band Pull Down x 15
      • Turkish Get Up x 5 each
      • Bulgarian Split Squat x 15 each
    • 4 Rounds
      • Pull Ups x 5
      • Row x 10
      • Pistol Squat to Bench x 10 each
    • 4 Rounds
      • Kettlebell Swing x 15
      • Ball Slam x 15
      • Overhead Press x 10 each
  • Thursday – Again, I skipped my usual running group workout to sleep in.  I later taught my 3:30PM Flywheel class.
  • Friday – I rode at Flywheel with the one and only John Wellman (305 as my score!  Not too bad!)
  • Saturday – My energy levels started to build again!  For once, I woke up early (on a non-teaching day), itching to get some activity in.  Before the rest of the house woke up, I snuck in a workout in the garage.
    • Warm Up (2 Rounds)
      • Row 2 minutes
      • Max Dead Hang (30-45 seconds)
      • Single Arm Chest Press Glute raise on Bosu x 15 each
      • Step Up with Bicep curl x 10 each
    • 4 Rounds
      • Pull up x 5
      • Deadlift x 10
      • Goblet Squat x 15
    • 2 Rounds
      • Side Plank x :45 each
      • Push up to Dip x 8 each
      • Side Lunge with TRX x 15 each
      • Heavy Carry (Kettlebell racked position) x 25 yards
  • Sunday – I taught my regularly scheduled 7:30 AM Flywheel class.

Leave a comment